Books · Fantasy · Historical · Reviews

The Dark Days Club 


 This is a book that I enjoyed very much. Not for the historical accuracy, I’m by far the person who knows the least about the Regency era. Only finding it out after looking into fantasy of manners as well as just randomly interested.

After reading Eon I wanted to try another book of hers, and this popped up. Well, I thoroughly enjoyed thid massive piece of work and it didn’t disappoint for me in taste.

But first, Helen is a good and strong protagonist. And she may be a special snowflake but I never feel as though she’s like that not even once, even for her own curiousity. And her doubt as well as being unsure was something I felt was real to her character, as she’s mostly expected to marry, and probably never worry. And when she stated the ability to feel powerful I thought that during that kind of era, a lot of women didn’t have much say. Whay wasn’t polite and what wasn’t and they were expected to behave like a girl.

And that she never felt too stupid, as she is naturally curious and in fact rather sensible. In that she doesn’t try to force a way to open for her, but to find one that no one could and would argue with. All the while she needed to be careful due to her current status. 

And the romance was little and I feel is what did it justice, as the romance here wasn’t important. And the love triangle is it even a love triangle, it’s like Helen trying to accept who she is and becoming a part of them or giving up her own abilities that was what Selburn and Carlston represented. 

And Lord Carlston, even though not much was revealed about him. But no doubt he is one misunderstood man. In fact, even though he still has the mystery whether he actually killed his wife or not. But he was always kind to Helen, and was in fact insightful and quite intelligent. He didn’t force Helen, knowing how difficult a choice it was for her to make. And that only someone truly devoted to the cause can do it, and that was what I agreed with. Completely. 

As for Selburn who decided to help Helen, and is still a mystery here, as his reasons for helping Helen just doesn’t sit right with me. It just doesn’t. He was kind and a gentleman all the while rolerant and forgiving and even willing to marry Helen. All the while helping her when she was in deep trouble. 

As for her Uncle, I vastly hated him. He feels as though women should be controlled and told what to do. He would have wanted a Helen who behaved and stayed within the norms. But if Helen was like that I would hate her, as she would make a boring protagonist to read through. 

As for the ending it was satisfying, although not much happened but there is still a lot left to be explained. And the ending was what I consider the best, and in facr most suiting Helen. All the while she has finally accepted who she is. 

But other than that, I have almost no complain for this book. Helen is a likeable protagonist who has agency and wants answers. With the world here being fascinating and even intriguing. All the while the whole thing about reclaimers those were pretty interesting aspects, as it was something new for me to read. I would definitely recommend this, but only if you want something deep and even well thought out, with little romance and even very little on having wit, with a paranormal spin during a historical era and a rather slow paced book. 

Rating: 5 out of 5 

Would you read the seuqel: Yes, I would read this like really. There is almost no reason not to read this. 

Leave a comment