4 stars · Books · Epic Fantasy · Fantasy · High Fantasy · Reviews

The Queen of Sorrow

If there is one word which I can use to describe this story, it is satisfying. It never lets the fans down, and the story goes in ways that I do not expect as much as I enjoy.

And in this work, I feel that the villains are shining. Merecot for all her insanity is one of the most charming and convicted characters. Her charm was so good that her plan no matter how insane seemed possible, and that it will be a neat solution.

It isn’t, it is far from that. But her intentions had never felt anything but having the best idea in mind. But it was her means which made it anything but delusions of a madman.

And she was what kept me really invested in the book. Dalenia and Naelin are less interesting in this book, but they never lose their touch. Dalenia always thinks of ways to make it safe, and she will never choose bloodshed. While Naelin prefers more personal ways and ensures that safety of her children. No matter the cost.

Both of these Queens work well together. As much as the story was dependent on a lot of other factors as well.

Although I’m not really liking the two of them, and the political mind games are a little on the simple side. The only thing really noteworthy here is how Merecot schemed to get power, how she simply waited for the right moment to make her demands. How she ensured that she had the advantage.

But it is in this very nature that makes Dalenia and Naelin heroes, and Merecot not. But still I have a very good heart for her.

As for the rest of the cast, which I think was simply a little too bloated. There wasn’t nearly half as much enjoyment as before. Maybe it’s because I read a lot of historical fiction books featuring women climbing their way to power in a man’s world. Power which rightfully belonged to them, but is always undermined.

As much as I say, this just simply didn’t feel as good as it was before. But it is still a good book and I’ll be looking out for the next book in the series.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a comment